How to Please by Elina Talvensaari receives the Risto Jarva Award

March 9, 2024

Finnish Film Foundation hands out the 10,000-euro Risto Jarva Award at the Tampere Film Festival.

Image: Joonas Pulkkanen /  Aamu Film Company

Elina Talvensaari

Elina Talvensaari

The Risto Jarva jury gave this year’s award to Elina Talvensaari for her short documentary film How to Please. In the film, Iraqi Wed Al-Asadi tells the story of how he got stuck in the Finnish asylum system.

The jury statement reads:

“This strong and topical film provides a humane depiction of an inhumane system. The protagonist’s resilience within the wheels of unjust and faceless bureaucracy is touching. The simplified mise-en-scène gives space for Wed’s relatable story. ”

The film is produced by Jussi Rantamäki and Emilia Haukka for Aamu Film Company. How to Please premiered last fall at IDFA, and it is currently nominated for the Finnish Jussi Film Award for best short film.

The first Risto Jarva Award was given in 1979. The award honors the memory of filmmaker Risto Jarva (1934–1977) and it is given annually by the Finnish Film Foundation at the Tampere Film Festival. This year’s jury members were Kaisu Isto, Helinä Kuusela and Tatu Pohjavirta.

Tampere Film Festival